Palliative care program certification

DNV offers certification for palliative care programs

DNV offers palliative care program certification, designed to recognize excellence in inpatient palliative care treatment.  Our palliative care program certification requirements integrate the National Consensus Project Clinical Practice Guidelines for Quality Palliative Care, 3rd edition and the CMS Conditions of Participation (CoPs) for hospitals.

Our requirements provide a framework that assists organizations in the development and implementation of processes and systems that improve operational effectiveness and enhance positive health outcomes to improve patients' quality of life.

Benefits of certification

DNV's palliative care program certification:

  • Validates organizational compliance with accepted standards of palliative care practice
  • Validates that the organization has a systematic approach to continuous quality improvement in the delivery of palliative care
  • Provides patients and their families with validation that the team caring for them has demonstrated experience, knowledge and skills in the complex specialty of palliative care

Palliative care program certification survey process audits

DNV's palliative care program certification survey audits an organization's palliative care program in the following areas:

  • Quality management system
  • Program management
  • Case management
  • Staffing management
  • Infection prevention and control
  • Palliative care service delivery encompassing the multidisciplinary approach of all associated service lines

Our standards and requirements are available for download free of charge


Palliative care program certification requirements, Revision 19-0


Palliative care program certification brochure

Have a question or need more information?

Contact us