NIAHO® Hospital Accreditation

Acute Care, Critical Access and Psychiatric
The NIAHO® accreditation program is more than just another way to validate Medicare compliance. It is a complete foundation for quality management. One that reverses the “gotcha” mentality of old-style surveys, and engages everyone—from top management to front-line staff—to contribute new ideas. So why not embrace a new approach that offers more value and less hassle? One that truly unleashes the potential of your commitment to quality and patient safety.

Our Services: Addressing the continuum of care

Our accreditation programs directly address CMS requirements and our certification programs leverage the guidance and best practices of clinical specialty organizations across healthcare.
  • US Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Brain Attack Coalition
  • American Heart Association
  • International Organization of Standardization
  • World Health Organization
Our NIAHO® standards rewrote the book on how to get more out of hospital accreditation. Annual surveys help lower the stress on staff and dramatically boosts your level of readiness. We've incorporating the ISO 9001 process standard - ideally suited to complex, people-powered businesses - into our accreditation. The more variables and inter-dependencies in you organization, the more relevant ISO becomes. As DNV hospitals often say, ISO provides the structure for the staff to focus on common goals, like patient care and safety. ISO 9001 puts everyone on the same page, turning individuals into teams, and teams into high-performance enterprises.

DNV Hospital Accreditation


NIAHO® Accreditation Standards - Acute Care


NIAHO® Accreditation Standards - Critical Access


NIAHO® Accreditation Process


DNV Healthcare USA Inc. Brochure


Psychiatric Hospital Accreditation Program


State Specific Standards

Click here to view standards specific to your organization's state

Have a question or need more information?

Contact us