Skip to content

Cardiac program certifications & center of excellence designation

DNV offers the a line of cardiac services that affirm an organization’s excellence in the provision of diagnostic services, surgical services, and therapies related to cardiovascular care.

DNV offers a cardiac services portfolio consisting of four certification options and two center of excellence designations.

The requirements set forth by DNV are based on the cardiovascular requirements, guidelines, recommendations and evidence-based professionally recognized standards of practice.

How to become a DNV Cardiac Center of Excellence

Organizations earn the designation of a DNV cardiac center of excellence by achieving certification in at least three cardiac service line programs: 

  • Chest pain advanced certification
  • Heart failure advanced certification 
  • Extracorporeal life support (ECLS) certification 
  • Ventricular assist device (VAD) program credential 

How to become a DNV Heart Failure Center of Excellence

Organizations can earn the designation of a DNV Heart Failure Center of Excellence by achieving both the heart failure advanced certification and the ventricular assist device (VAD) program credential.

Center of excellence designation survey components

  • Survey agenda and document request list are provided in advance to assist organization with survey planning
  • DNV client drop box provides ready access to the DNV cardiac team for questions or additional information 
  • DNV surveys with: 
  • Qualified DNV surveyors with specific backgrounds, training, and current experiences in the delivery of cardiac services
  • Technical experts with current discipline experience also participate in VAD and ECLS survey activity
  • Survey activity incorporates program data review on an annual basis to validate process improvement outcomes 
  • DNV cardiac-based certification standards allow flexibility in program design, delivery, and monitoring/measuring of cardiac processes

Added value for DNV NIAHO® accreditated hospitals

  • The DNV certification requirements are aligned with NIAHO and ISO 9001
  • A center of excellence designation survey verifies programmatic alignment with the organization’s required quality management system

Cardiac certification documents

Our standards and requirements are available for download free of charge


Cardiac service line brochure


Extracorporeal life support certification requirements


Extracorporeal life support certification brochure


Chest pain advanced certification requirements


Chest pain advanced certification brochure


Heart failure advanced certification requirements


Heart failure advanced certification brochure


Ventricular assist device program credential requirements


Ventricular assist device program credential brochure

Have a question or need more information?

Contact us