DNV’s Certified Healthcare Infection Prevention Professional (CHIPP)

Practical training in methods of clinical infection prevention

About the Certified Healthcare Infection Prevention Professional Program:

The DNV CHIPP program is designed to be both an individual certification program and useful training for anyone involved with, or interested in, the Infection Prevention aspect of healthcare. The DNV CHIPP program will have two course offerings:

CHIPP-B (Basic) is the first course in the DNV CHIPP series and is designed to provide a basic understanding of infection prevention. This course meets the CMS requirements for a basic course in Infection Prevention. The classroom training portion of this course consists of three (3) days of instructor-led, classroom training and is followed by an electronic exam.  Approved participants must complete and pass with a minimum score of 80%. The exam will be available for ONE (1), TWO-HOUR timed attempt within a 14-day window of course completion. Although anyone in the healthcare setting may attend the training, those wishing to sit the exam to become CHIPP-B certified are required to complete the application process beforehand.  Individuals who complete the course will be allowed to use DNV CHIPP-B as a credential.

CHIPP-A (Advanced): In development, to be released in 2024.

Eligibility Criteria:

CHIPP courses are open to anyone interested in gaining a better understanding of infection prevention in healthcare. Certification is available to those who meet the eligibility requirements.

CHIPP-B (Basic)

Individuals who wish to become DNV CHIPP-B certified must meet minimum qualifications for experience and successfully pass the CHIPP-B examination with a minimum score of 80%.

Exam Prerequisites:

  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Currently employed in healthcare facility or related industry 
  • Attend the CHIPP-B Class

CHIPP-A (Advanced)

Individuals who wish to become DNV CHIPP-A certified must have a current CHIPP-B certification, attend the CHIPP-B Course, and pass the examination with a minimum score of 80%.

Recertification – 15 hours CE credits over 3 years or retest